Missing the Stage

7 Apr
Doing My Thing

Doing My Thing

You know, there’s really very few things that are as rewarding as performing on stage.  Take this from someone who works in a helping profession and loves it.  However, performing on stage brings out primal fears, and really, weather it’s your voice, your acting, or your playing an instrument, you really offer something that you personally have worked very hard on.  Regardless of how many people helped you to get up it, essentially it’s just YOU up there.  And so you get the applause and you get the boos. 

I might be doing a performance on Thursday, just singing.  I have been trying to stay away from doing anything performance wise, be it theatre or singing, because the preparation takes so much time.  But I must say, I do miss it.  I miss it a great deal. 

Sometimes I feel that the more I’m away from the stage the less people will want me back.  I’m thinking of auditioning for a show but I’m actually scared of not getting cast, which hasn’t happened before, but there’s always a first.  I think your confidence is what comes off clearly in auditions and I just don’t have that right now.

Anyway, this is a meaningless post, but if there are some of you out there who have performed on stage and feel like it’s time to go back, I’d love to hear your fears/hesitations/exceitement.

Leave a Reply

